Frequently Asked Questions
If you have serious doubts about your abilities, consider an Introductory Motorcycle Experience class. If you have been riding on your permit for a season or so and have your own motorcycle, the Basic RiderCourse 2 for License Waiver might be a better choice.
Out of state participants
Out-of-state participants must have a valid car driver’s license from their home state; check with your home state’s DMV to see if they will honor a New York State BRC completion card for licensing benefits.
Students under the age of 18
Students under the age of 18 will need to have their parent or guardian’s signature on the New York State Motorcycle Safety Program Release, Waiver and Indemnification form.
The parent or guardian can accompany the student to class and sign the form in the presence of the RiderCoach with proper identification (photo ID), or the student may bring the pre-signed form to class so long as the parent’s signatures are notarized.
Please note that BRC graduates under age 18 will need to hold a valid motorcycle permit for at least 6 months before they can apply for the road test waiver. Click here for information on the Graduated Licensing Law.
Each BRC consists of a 5-hour (approx.) eCourse that you complete on-line, on your own, prior to your class. You do not have to do the eCourse all at once – you can complete the course over several visits. You will get an access code to the eCourse once you are enrolled. Do not attempt to access the eCourse directly on the MSF website; you will be charged a non-refundable fee. Wait to receive your eCourse details in your BRC Confirmation to get free access.
If you are nervous about diving right in or not sure if motorcycling is for you, you may want to consider an Introductory Motorcycle Experience (IME) course as your entry point to training.
You can see the full schedule, plus availability for each location, by clicking here.
Note: If you have previously been enrolled in a RiderCourse, you may have received access to other eCourse(s). This access is ongoing, and your new BRC eCourse link may allow access to the prior version of the eCourse, as well as the current version. Be sure to select the ePackage 1 option. ONLY access your BRC E Package 1 eCourse by using the links that will be provided after you enroll. If you sign up directly on the MSF’s website, you will be charged a non-refundable fee. Wait for your link and take the eCourse for free as part of your BRC!
After you complete your eCourse, be sure to print out your completion certificate – you will need to bring this to class with you. A photo or a screen shot will suffice if you are unable to print a hard copy.
Your eCourse certificate is only valid for 30 days, so be sure to wait until you are within the 30-day window before your complete your course.
Certain medical conditions, recent surgery or injury and/or prescription or over-the-counter drugs may interfere with safe motorcycle operation. If you have medical issues, it is important to consult with your doctor or pharmacist before the course to determine if your medical condition, or the drugs that you are taking for it, could interfere with your ability to safely operate a motorcycle.
Please consider that you will be outdoors for extended periods in ambient weather conditions. You will spend a full day expending mental and physical energy as you learn new skills.
If you are particularly short, please contact our office so we can arrange for you to “try on” one of our training motorcycles a week or two before your class.
If you feel that there are motor skill ability, age, physical condition or language limitations that may limit your ability to learn to ride, please feel free to contact our office to discuss what provision can be made to assist you.
All students must wear a motorcycle helmet and eye protection that meet DOT standards. Students are encouraged to provide their own DOT approved helmet and eye protection. Motorcycle helmets and eye protection are available to borrow, but we prefer that you bring your own.
You will also need to bring a copy of your eCourse certificate (or a screen shot); your driver’s license (and a paper copy for our records), snacks, water, a folding chair. You might consider bring a bag lunch, for convenience. If you are under age 18, you will need to bring a copy of the NYSMSP Release, Waiver and Indemnification Form signed by a parent (and notarized!)
You will receive a complete list in your confirmation materials.
BRC students are required to have a valid car driver’s license during their class.
Not that instant, but almost. Successful students will receive a New York State Motorcycle Safety Program BRC completion card. You will need to bring this card, along with your license and motorcycle learner’s permit to the DMV to amend your license. If you do not have your motorcycle learner’s permit prior to your class, you will need to get one before you can apply the road test waiver.
You can obtain your permit and amend your license in one visit to the DMV. Students under age 18 will not be able to utilize their road test waiver document until they have held a motorcycle learner’s permit for at least six months.
IMPORTANT! If you reschedule to a different class, you MUST cancel your existing class or you will be charged for both classes!
- If you cancel your class seven (7) or more days before your class start date, you will be charged a $20 processing fee.
- If you cancel your class within seven (7) days of your scheduled course you will be charged a $100 processing fee.
- If you cancel within 24 hours of your class start time, fail to show up, or show up after training has begun, you will be charged the full course fee.
- If an emergency comes up and you need to cancel on the day prior to your class start, please notify us by telephone, 315-858-3321. If we are able to find a last-minute new-student enrollment to fill your vacated spot, we will reduce the BRC cancellation processing fee to $100.
If you sign up to fill a waitlisted spot, you MUST remember to cancel your existing class, or you will be charged for both classes. The enrollment system will not automatically cancel your original class. You must do that manually. Cancellation fees will apply.
Naturally, if your personal schedule changes and you learn that you will no longer be available on your waitlisted dates, we ask that you remove your name from the waitlist to make room for someone else.
Check back on our website periodically; additional classes may be added. If you reschedule to a different class, you MUST cancel your existing class or you will be charged for both classes! Cancellation fees will apply.
NOTE: If your scheduled class starts within the next 7 days, and you reschedule to a class that starts even earlier in the next 7 days (for example, you were scheduled for a Thursday start date, but rescheduled to the Monday class that starts three days earlier), please call our office to cancel your original class as the enrollment system will charge the larger “within the week” cancellation fee. In this circumstance, we will reduce the cancellation fee to $20.