Frequently Asked Questions


For most students, yes. The range portion begins with hands-on learning of the location and function of all of the controls, proper mounting and dismounting techniques, proper start-up and shut-down procedures.
Click here to go to the online enrollment page. Once there you will be able to see current course availability for all our training locations and select your training dates.
The 3-Wheeled Basic RiderCourse costs just $125. This special promotional rate, for the 3 wheeled Basic Rider Course, applies to students that use the 3-wheeled motorcycles we provide for training. Students may provide their own trike-style (one wheel in front; two in back) motorcycle for training, but the non-subsidized full tuition of $275 will apply.
3-W Basic RiderCourse participants must be at least 16 years of age. In addition, if you are a New York State resident you must possess a valid car driver’s license during your class, and you will need to obtain a motorcycle learner’s permit in order to apply the road test waiver. This may be obtained from the DMV either before or after your course dates. Out-of-state participants must have a valid license from their home state; check with your home state’s DMV to see if they will honor a New York State BRC completion card for licensing benefits.

Click here for a copy of the NYSMSP waiver

Please note that BRC graduates under age 18 will need to hold a valid motorcycle permit for at least 6 months before they can apply for the road test waiver.  Click here for information on the Graduated Licensing Law.

The 3WBRC is offered at our Utica training location at Mohawk Valley Community College.
In Utica, our training season runs from late April thru October.
Each Basic RiderCourse has about 16 hours of instruction. Classes are generally scheduled over a two day period, or sometimes an evening classroom session followed by two days. Other schedules may become available. The curriculum content of each class is identical, and all scheduling options qualify for the NYS road test waiver to obtain a motorcycle endorsement restricted to three-wheeled motorcycle.

You can see the full schedule, plus availability for each location, by clicking here.

The class size will vary by location and the number of RiderCoaches.  There are no more than 12 students in each 3WBRC. 
All of our 3WBRC training motorcycles have two wheels in the front and one wheel in the back and have automatic transmissions. 3 wheeled rider training
It is recommended that 3WBRC students use our training motorcycles during the course. Students may use their own 3W motorcycle/trike, but will need to pay the full tuition of $275.  Call for details:  315-858-3321.  Sidecar rigs and sit-inside/car-style 3 wheelers are not permitted.
All students need proper riding gear: sturdy non-flared long pants (no holey knees please!), sturdy over-the-ankle footwear (like a hiking boot or a work boot), full-fingered gloves, and a jacket. You may bring your own motorcycle helmet and eye protection, so long as they meet DOT standards. We can lend you a helmet with eye protection if you do not have one of your own.

You will also need to bring a photocopy of your license and the original.

You’ll get specific details on what to bring once you are enrolled.

Yes, the courses will take place during “normal” rainy conditions, so come prepared with a rain suit if rain is imminent. Classes will be canceled/rescheduled in the event of severe weather – your RiderCoaches will make that determination that day, so you should show up for class no matter what.
You do not need your motorcycle permit to take the 3WBRC, but you will need to obtain a motorcycle learner’s permit before you can use the road test waiver document to obtain your license. You may obtain the permit either before or after your class dates.

3WBRC students are required to have a car driver’s license during their class.

Out-of-state participants will need a license from their home state in order to enroll/participate. Out-of-state participants should check with their home state’s DMV regarding licensing eligibility though a New York State 3WBRC.
Learner’s permits are obtained at local DMV offices. You will be required to take a twenty-question, multiple-choice quiz testing your knowledge of the
rules of the road and motorcycling. You can study for your quiz by reviewing the DMV Car and Motorcycle Operator’s Manuals.
Students must participate in the entire 3WBRC and successfully complete the BRC knowledge test and skills evaluation in order to receive the motorcycle road test waiver document.  Your waiver document will qualify you to receive a motorcycle endorsement restricted to 3-wheeled operation.  If you want to operate a 2-wheeled motorcycle, you should consider the BRC as your entry point to learning. 
3WBRC students who fail either the written and/or skills evaluations, will be given an opportunity to re-test at no charge. Re-tests must be taken within 30 days of your course completion date. 
Not that instant, but almost. Successful students will receive a New York State Motorcycle Safety Program 3WBRC completion card. You will need to bring this card, along with your license and motorcycle learner’s permit to the DMV to amend your license. If you do not have your motorcycle learner’s permit prior to your class, you will need to get one before you can apply the road test waiver. You can obtain your permit and amend your license in one visit to the DMV. Students under age 18 will not be able to utilize their road test waiver document until they have held a motorcycle learner’s permit for at least six months.
Riding a motorcycle requires alertness, coordination, grip and fine muscle control of the hands and feet. Certain medical conditions, recent surgery or injury and/or certain prescription or over-the-counter drugs may interfere with safe motorcycle operation. If you have a history of dizzy spells, fainting, seizures, epilepsy, muscular, balance/inner ear or other physical or stress related problems, are recovering from recent injury or surgery and/or are taking prescription or over-the-counter medications, it is imperative that you consult with your doctor or pharmacist before the course to determine if your medical condition, or the drugs that you are taking for it, could interfere with your ability to operate a motorcycle.

*If you feel that there are motor skill ability, age, physical condition or language limitations that may limit your ability to learn to ride, please feel free to contact our office to discuss what provision can be made to assist you.

Most motorcycle insurance companies offer a premium discount to RiderCourse graduates. Please contact your insurance carrier for specific details.
You may cancel or reschedule your basic rider course class on-line up to one full calendar day before your class start date. On-line changes will not be available on the day before your class starts; call instead: 315-858-3321. Fees apply.  Please click here for details.

If you would be interested and available to move to an earlier Basic RiderCourse date than the one for which you are scheduled:

a) Check back on our website periodically; additional classes may be added and/or cancellations by other students may create an earlier opening. You may reschedule using the confirmation number in your confirmation e-mail. A $20 fee will apply. NOTE: If your class starts within the next 7 days and you want to move to an even earlier available course date, please phone the office to reschedule, as the on-line enrollment system will charge a larger reschedule fee.

b) If you would like to be considered for last minute fill-ins (within 24 hours of a class start date/time), please email us with your preferences. You might specify a particular date that you desire or a general interest in an earlier date – please specify if you are available weekends or weekdays – and we will put you on the cancellation list.

Enrolling in a RiderCourse indicates that you have reviewed and agree to our POLICIES.

3WBRC Confirmation Links